The Times Journal & Russell County News
Wednesday, Apr. 23, 2014 — RUSSELL SPRINGS & JAMESTOWN, KENTUCKY —
Get online news updates FREE - Subscribe:  [?]

Polls open November 2nd
In Oct. 28 Issue
By Derek Aaron
Times Journal Editor

Thousands of Russell County voters are expected to cast their ballots in Nov. 2nd's general election, according to Court Clerk Lisha Popplewell.

A total of 12,777 voters are on the rolls for the election, down from the 12,860 that appeared on the roles during the 2008 general election but still a good figure for a non-presidential election.

Of the current figures, 9,334 are registered Republican, 3,071 are registered Democrat and 372 are registered as other. Breaking it down even further, females have outregistered males in Russell County, 6,607 to 6,169.

The county's first magisterial district has the highest number of registered voters with 2,943. This district includes the Lake, Jamestown and Eller precincts.

The city hall precinct in the 5th magisterial district has the most registered voters of any precinct in the county with 1,183 on the roll.

The following is a breakdown of Russell County's 16 voter precincts and where voters in these precincts must go to place their vote Nov. 2:

Lake and Jamestown precincts will vote in the Jamestown Elementary cafeteria, Rowena and Bryan precincts will vote at Union Chapel Elementary, Eller, Esto, Parkway and Middletown precincts will vote at the Russell County High School cafeteria, Salem, Irvins and Fonthill precincts will vote at Salem Elementary, Eli precinct will vote at the Eli Volunteer Fire Department, Jabez precinct will vote at the Christian Community Center in Jabez and the Webbs, Royville and City Hall precincts will vote in the cafeteria of Russell Springs Elementary.

In local party elections Republican Ralph Creech, a local businessman, faces off against Democrat Gary D. Robertson, the 5th district's current magistrate, for the county's top governmental spot.

Incumbent Sheriff Larry Bennett, the longest serving sheriff in county history, is running against Democrat James Fetty.

In the race for county attorney it is two former assistant county attorneys squaring off as Republican Kevin Shearer is pitted against Democrat Jeffery T. Loy

Republican Bobby Dunbar, who took home the most votes in the primary election last spring, will face Democrat Tim Glover. Both have served as deputy jailers in the past.

The property valuation administrator's race is between Republican Tim Popplewell and Democrat Roger Back.

In the local district judge's race, Larry E. Rogers and Scarlett Latham go head to head in a 3-county area.

The first district magistrate's race will pit incumbent Greg Popplewell, a Republican, against Democrat Dwaine "Dude" West.

Newcomer Brook Cochran, a Republican, faces Democrat John "Brack" Flanagan for the second district magistrate's position. In the third district magistrate's position, the incumbent Ronald Johnson, a Republican, will face Democrat Marty Kazsuk.

Incumbent Jimmy McQueary, a Republican, goes against Democrat Steve Richardson for fourth district magistrate position. In the Magisterial District 5 race, Republican Larry W. Holt and Democrat Lou Ann Gore Flanagan, both county party chairpersons for their respective parties, will face off on the ballot.

In the race for coroner, incumbent Larry Skaggs, a Republican, is facing Democrat Bill Carroll while the race for county surveyor will see Republican Bobby Smith take on Democrat Michael Syphax.

In the non-partisan 4th educational district school board race incumbent Clifford Wilson, the current board chairman, will take on Dick Kazsuk and Nancy Eastham.

In the race for mayor of Russell Springs incumbent Hollis DeHart faces Lillard Pettyjohn. Seven are vying for six spots on the Russell Springs City Council including incumbents Ray Barrett, Lisa Mann, Ricky Barnes, Eric Selby, David Blakey and Timmy Hudson with newcomer Eddie Thomas also in the mix.

In Jamestown, eight are gunning for the six spots on that city council as incumbents Harold "Frog" Miller, David Lawless, Marcelene Taylor, George Ralph Garr, Terry Robertson and Larry Joe Murray are again up for election with two newcomers looking to make a statement as Carolyn Williams and Bill Hunter are options as well.

In the only constable race it will be Perry Brumley against Democrat Jeff Aaron in district one.

In the hotly contested U.S. Senate Race, Republican Rand Paul takes on Democrat Jack Conway in what has become a very personal race.

Content Management Powered by CuteNews
SUBSCRIBE to The Times Journal: CLICK HERE


You can publish news about your group or organization directly to our site, using your computer.
Visit the award-winning official web site for the Russell County Marching Band.
Lake Cumberland Web Cams LIVE WEB CAMS
Views of Lake Cumberland as it is right now, from a number of web cams.
Official site for Lake Cumberland with everything for the lake visitor and fisherman.
The Times Journal is a weekly newspaper issued on Thursdays. It was first published on October 13, 1949, by Andrew J. and Terry Norfleet.
P.O. Box 190
120 Wilson St.
Russell Springs KY 42642
Phone: 270-866-3191
Fax: 270-866-3198
Russell County News is a weekly newspaper issued on Saturdays, and is mailed free to every address in Russell County, Ky. It was first published on February 1, 1913.
404 Monument Square
Jamestown KY 42629
Phone: 270-343-5700
David Davenport
Managing Editor:
Greg Wells
News & Sports Editor:
Derek Aaron
Advertising Manager:
Stephanie Smith
Business Manager:
Kim Haydon
Production Manager:
Renee Daffron
Jamestown Office:
Kim Graham
Members of the public may attend meetings. Boards or agencies may schedule other meetings at special times, but are required to notify the public.
FISCAL COURT: 2nd Monday of month, 6 p.m. in the Courthouse
RUSSELL SPRINGS CITY: 2nd Thursday of month, 6 p.m. in the City Hall Municipal Room
JAMESTOWN CITY: 3rd Thursday of month, 6 p.m. in basement meeting room at City Hall
SCHOOL BOARD: 3rd Monday of month, 6:30 p.m., Board of Education office in Jamestown
LIBRARY BOARD: 2nd Tuesday of month, 5 p.m. at Jamestown Library
AIRPORT BOARD: 1st Tuesday of month, 5 p.m. at Airport
TOURISM COMMISSION: 2nd Wednesday of month, 12:30 p.m. at Tourism Office
CHAMBER OF COMMERCE: 3rd Tuesday of month, noon at The Cove restaurant
The links below open new windows. We are not responsible for the content of the sites.
Laker Country WJRS
(Russell Springs)
WKYM-1017 (Monticello)
Adair Progress (Columbia)
Casey County News (Liberty)
Clinton County News (Albany)
Cumberland County News (Burkesville)
Wayne County Outlook (Monticello)
Lexington Herald-Leader
Louisville Courier-Journal
WKYT-TV, Lexington
WBKO-TV, Bowling Green
The links below open new windows. We are not responsible for the content of the sites.


Choose your service and provider